Under provision of the Indian Act, Governance of the Kitsumkalum Indian Band is through an elected Chief and Council, while work continues towards reintroduction of a hereditary governing system.

Kitsumkalum Band Council is elected every two years and consists of seven Councillors and one Chief Councillor faithfully providing its people strong, accountable and effective governance.

Council represents the Kitsumkalum people in all interactions with Canada, and is responsible for setting and managing the Nation’s budget. The last election was on February 23, 2017, with the next election scheduled in 2019.

Don Roberts

Chief Councillor

Cynthia Bohn


Wayne Bolton


Kenny Brown


Troy Sam


Susan Spalding


Lisa Wesley


Kathy Wesley


Kitsumkalum Band Council welcomes its members to attend Council meetings.

Council meetings occur every other Thursday at 6:30 p.m. To place an item on the agenda, please contact Steve Roberts, Band Manager, at kitsumkalum@citywest.ca or (250) 635-6177.

Guidelines for observing Council meetings are:

  • Kitsumkalum Band Council meetings are open to Kitsumkalum band membership, with the exception of any “in camera” portion dealing with personnel matters or other sensitive or confidential material
  • Kitsumkalum Members are welcome to observe the Council meeting, but cannot engage in Council discussions. Observers are asked to refrain from participating in the meeting or transmitting information to Council members during the  meeting. Along with Council members, observers are asked to mute cell phones and other devices during the meeting ; and
  • Kitsumkalum Band Council meetings are a scent free environment. Observers are asked to please refrain from using scented products when attending Council meetings

If you have any questions prior to or after the meeting, contact:

Sandra Christiansen,
Local: 250-635-6177
Toll Free: 1-877-635-6177

Email: kitsumkalum@citywest.ca

News Related to Elections, Chief & Council